Former Pentecost Chairman now President of Bible Society

The immediate past Chairman of The Church of Pentecost, Apostle Professor Opoku Onyinah, has been inducted as the President of the Bible Society of Ghana, with Madam Matilda Amissah-Arthur (former 2nd Lady of the Republic of Ghana) and Mrs. Florence Hutchful as Vice Presidents.

Apostle Prof. Opoku Onyinah took over from Rev. Dr. Joyce Aryee of the Salt and Light Ministries.

His induction service took place during the Society’s 2020 Annual General Meeting held at the Evangel Assemblies of God Church at Adabraka, Accra, on Thursday, October 1, 2020.

According to the General Secretary of the Bible Society of Ghana, Rev. Dr. Enock Aryee-Atta, Apostle Prof. Onyinah was elected by the Council of the Society through physical and virtual elections.

In his remarks, Apostle Prof. Onyinah thanked members of the Society for the confidence reposed in him and called for their continued support for its activities. “Beloved, it is indeed humbling to serve you as president and I pray that you continue to support the Society so that it will be a beacon of God’s glory to all people,” he said.

Prior to his induction, The Church of Pentecost in a letter signed by Apostle David Tettey Tekper, Executive Council Member and Chairman of the Greater Accra Regional Coordinating Committee, on behalf of Chairman of the Church, Eric Nyamekye, congratulated the Apostle Prof. Onyinah on his new position.

On his part, the Vice-Chancellor of Pentecost University, Apostle Dr. Daniel Walker, congratulated Apostle Prof. Onyinah on assuming the new position. “We as a University and Church are proud to associate with Prof Onyinah and the new mandate God has bestowed on him. We wish him the best,” he stated.

Apostle Prof. Opoku Onyinah is the immediate past Chancellor of the Pentecost University and President of the Ghana Pentecostal and Charismatic Council (GPCC).

He served as a full-time minister of the Church for 42 years during which he held many high-profile positions. Notable among them were International Missions Director, Rector of Pentecost University College between 2003 and 2008, and Chairman of the Church from 2008 to 2018.

Currently, he is a lecturer at the School of Theology, Mission and Leadership of Pentecost University.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here



Related Articles